GIVE to our Annual Appeal

Links

Architecture

The American Institute of Architects: www.aia.org
Architectural Record: archrecord.construction.com
Design Guide: www.designguide.com
Great Buildings: www.greatbuildings.com
Historic American Buildings Survey/ Historic American Engineering Record: memory.loc.gov
Old Houses: www.oldhouses.com
Society of Architectural Historians: www.sah.org
Traditional Building: www.traditional-building.com
Vernacular Architecture Forum: www.vafweb.org

County Historians

Clinton County: www.clintoncountyhistorical.org
Essex County: www.adkhistorycenter.org
Franklin County: www.franklinhistory.org
Fulton County: www.fultoncountyny.gov
Hamilton County: www.hamilton.nygenweb.net
Herkimer County: 315-866-1398
Lewis County: www.lewiscounty.org
Oneida County: www.oneidacounty.org
St. Lawrence County: www.slcha.org
Saratoga County: www.saratogacountyny.gov
Warren County: www.co.warren.ny.us
Washington County: www.co.washington.ny.us

County Historical Societies and Museums

Clinton County Historical Association: www.clintoncountyhistorical.org
Essex County Historical Society: www.adkhistorycenter.org
Franklin County Historical and Museum Society: www.franklinhistory.org
Fulton County Historical Society and Museum: fultoncountymuseum.com
Hamilton County: www.hamilton.nygenweb.net
Herkimer County Historical Society: www.rootsweb.ancestry.com
Lewis County Historical Society:  www.lewiscountyhistory.org
Oneida County Historical Society:  www.oneidacountyhistory.org
St. Lawrence County Historical Association: www.slcha.org
Saratoga County Historical Society:  www.brooksidemuseum.org
Warren County Historical Society: www.warrencountyhistoricalsociety.org
Washington County Historical Society: www.wchs-ny.org

Cultural Landscapes

Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation: www.ahlp.org
American Society of Landscape Architects: www.asla.org
The Cultural Landscape Foundation: www.tclf.org
Scenic America: www.scenic.org
World Heritage Centre: whc.unesco.org

Economics

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP): www.achp.gov
Economic Impacts on Cultural Heritage Tourism: www.culturalheritagetourism.org
Economic Issues in Historic Preservation: www.achp.gov
National Trust Main Street Center: www.mainstreet.org

Fire Towers

A Pictorial History of the Fire Towers in New York: www.beebehill.info
New York State Fire Tower Inventory: www.beebehill.info
Heritage Education
Adirondack Curriculum Project (resources for teachers): www.adkcurriculumproject.org
NEH-Sponsored Apps and Projects: www.onlineclasses.org
Teaching with Historic Places: www.nps.gov/nr/twhp

Heritage Tourism

Alliance of National Heritage Areas: www.nationalhertiageareas.com
Lake Champlain Basin Program: www.lcbp.org
Lakes to Locks Passage: www.lakestolocks.com
National Scenic Byways: www.byways.org
National Trust Heritage Tourism Program: www.preservationnation.org
Partners in Tourism: www.nasaa-arts.org
Tourism Cares: www.tourismcares.org

Historic Cemeteries

Gravestone Preservation: www.gravestoneconservation.com
Guidelines for Evaluating/Registering Cemeteries and Burial Places: www.nps.gov/history
New York State Association of Cemeteries: www.nysac.com

Historic Roads

Federal Highway Administration: www.fhwa.dot.gov
Historic Roads: www.historicroads.org

Historic Sites

Camp Santanoni: www.aarch.org
Crown Point State Historic Site: www.nyparks.state.us
John Brown Farm State Historic Site: www.nyparks.state.us
Fort Ticonderoga: www.fort-ticonderoga.org

Libraries

Northern New York Library Network: www.nnyln.net

Local Organizations

Friends of the North Country: www.friendsofthenorthcountry.org
Historic Essex: www.essexny.org
Historic Saranac Lake: www.historicsaranaclake.org
PRIDE of Ticonderoga: www.prideofticonderoga.org

Maps and Geographic Information Systems
Cultural Resource Mapping and GIS: www.nps.gov
Geographic Information Systems (USGS): www.usgs.gov
GIS: www.gis.com
GIS Data: www.geocom.com
GIS Development: www.gisdevelopment.net
New York State Historical Maps: www.sunysb.edu

Materials

Building Materials Reuse Association: https://bmra.org/
Historic Albany Foundation Architectural Parts Warehouse: www.historic-albany.org
Historic Home Works: www.historichomeworks.com
United States Department of Agriculture: Directory of Wood-Framed Building Deconstruction and Reused Building Materials Companies, 2004 PDF

Museums

Adirondack History Center Museum/Essex County Historical Society: www.adkhistorycenter.org
Adirondack Museum: www.adkmuseum.org
Chapman Historic Museum: www.chapmanmuseum.org
National Building Museum: www.nbm.org
Penfield Homestead Museum: www.penfieldmuseum.org
Wilder Homestead: www.almanzowilderfarm.com

National Associations

American Association of State and Local History: www.aaslh.org
Association for Preservation Technology: www.apti.org
Historic Building Inspectors Association: www.inspecthistoric.org
National Parks Conservation Association: www.npca.org
The Mining History Association: www.mininghistoryassociation.org

National Park Service

American Battlefield Protection Program: www.nps.gov/history/hps/abpp
Heritage Preservation Services: www.nps.gov/heritageinitiatives
National Historic Landmarks Program: www.nps.gov/history/nhl
National Park Service: www.nps.gov
National Register of Historic Places: www.nps.gov/history/nr
Technical Preservation Services: www.nps.gov/tps

New York State

Association of Public Historians of New York State: www.aphnys.org
Existing Railroad Stations in New York State: www.existingstations.com
New York Historical Association: www.nysha.org
New York History Net: www.nyhistory.com
New York Planning Federation: www.nypf.org
New York State Council on the Arts: www.nysca.org
New York State Historic Preservation: www.nysparks.state.ny.us
New York State Smart Growth: smartgrowthny.org
Preservation League of New York State: www.preservenys.org
Traditional Arts of Upstate New York: www.tauny.org
Upstate History Alliance: www.upstatehistory.org

Organizations

African American Heritage Preservation Foundation: www.aahpfdn.org
Heritage Preservation: www.heritagepreservation.org
League of Historic American Theatres: www.lhat.org
National Council for Preservation Education: www.ncpe.us
National Council on Public History: www.ncph.org
National Railway Historic Society: www.nrhs.com
National Trust Main Street Center: www.mainstreet.org
Old House Network: www.oldhousenetwork.org
Open Space Institute: www.osiny.org
Preservation Action: www.preservationaction.org
Save America’s Treasures: www.saveamericastreasures.org
Society for Commercial Archeology: www.sca-roadside.org
Theatre Historical Society of America: www.historictheatres.org
The Forest History Society: www.foresthistory.org
Timber Framers Guild: www.tfguild.org
US/ICOMOS: usicomos.org
Trust for Public Land: www.tpl.org

Planning and Community Development

American Farmland Trust: www.farmland.org
American Planning Association: www.planning.org
Housing Assistance Program of Essex County: www.hapec.org
International Downtown Association: www.ida-downtown.org
Planners Web Sprawl Guide: www.plannersweb.com
Smart Growth Network: www.smartgrowth.org
Sustainable Measures: www.sustainablemeasures.com
Transportation Action Network: www.transact.org
Walkable Communities: www.walkable.org

Preservation Trades

International Log Builders’ Association: www.logassociation.org
International Preservation Trades Network: www.iptw.org
Preservation Trades Network: www.iptw.org

Preservation Websites

Preservation Directory: www.preservationdirectory.com
Preservenet: www.preservenet.cornell.edu
Preserve and Protect: www.preserve.org
Railway Preservation News: www.rypn.org
Recent Past Preservation Network: www.recentpast.net

Rural Preservation

Agriculture Online: www.agriculture.com
Barn Again! National Trust for Historic Preservation: www.preservationnation.org

Special Collections

Adirondack Research Center: www.saranaclakelibrary.org
Fulton-Montgomery Photographic Archives: www.fmphotoarchives.org
Special Collections at SUNY Plattsburgh: www.plattsburgh.edu/library/specialcollections

Sustainable Design

AIA Committee on the Environment: www.aia.org
Building Green: www.buildinggreen.com
National Park Service – Sustainable Design: www.nps.gov/sustainability
National Trust for Historic Preservation: www.preservationnation.org
Sustainable Buildings Industry Council: www.sbicouncil.org
US General Services Administration Sustainable Design Program: www.gsa.gov
US Green Building Council: www.usgbc.org

United States Government

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation: www.achp.gov
Department of the Interior: www.doi.gov
Federal Preservation Institute: www.nps.gov/fpi
HABS/HAER Programs: www.nps.gov/hdp
Maritime Preservation: www.nps.gov/maritime
United States Department of Agriculture, Rural Development Program: www.usda.gov
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD): www.hud.gov
United States General Services Administration: www.gsa.gov