Join Now

AARCH Awards

The AARCH Annual Awards Program recognizes exemplary historic preservation work throughout the Adirondack region.

We are now accepting nominations for our 2018 Preservation Awards.  For over 20 years, our annual awards program has recognized sensitive restoration, rehabilitation and adaptive reuse of historic structures that are consistent with our mission of long-term stewardship.  The awards honor the organizations, businesses, and individuals who, through these projects, make the Adirondacks better places to live, work, and visit.

Projects large and small in the Adirondack Region are eligible for consideration.  Nomination form and additional details HERE.

Information about the 2018 awards luncheon will be made available soon.


In 2016 we presented awards to eight projects that show the vital preservation work being done in communities all around the Adirondacks. These awards honor the best examples of sensitive restoration, rehabilitation, and demonstrated long-term stewardship by individuals, organizations, local governments and businesses. Our 2016 winners:

  • Essex Community Heritage Organization (ECHO) for their restoration of the 1826 Boquet Schoolhouse (Town of Essex, Essex County).
  • Beers Bridge Way Neighbors, a private association, for their reconstruction of the National Register listed Beers Bridge over the Ausable River (Town of Keene, Essex County).
  • David and Donna Terry for their preservation and stewardship of the Cabins in Hope, of a group of 1930’s roadside cabins (Town of Hope, Hamilton County).
  • Ellen Phelan and Joel Shapiro for their restoration and stewardship of Kenjockety, a complex of historic buildings, with gardens designed by landscape architect Dan Kiley (Westport, Essex County).
  • Lake George Historical Association and Town of Lake George for the renovation and adaptive reuse of the former Warren County Courthouse (Lake George, Warren County).
  • Chris Cohan and Rita Wong for restoration of Lady Tree Lodge, an 1890’s rustic camp (Upper Saranac Lake, Franklin County).
  • Nettle Meadow Farm, owners Sheila Flanaga and Lorraine Lambiase, for the restoration of the 1903 barn, for public and agricultural use (Town of Thurman, Warren County).
  • Strand Center for the Arts for the restoration of the 1924 Strand Theater (Plattsburgh, Clinton County).


awards-event-01The Awards Luncheon was held on Monday, October 3 at the Whallonsburg Grange Hall, in the Champlain Valley near Essex. The 1916 Grange Hall, a restored and revitalized community center, was the recipient of an AARCH Preservation Award in 2015. We celebrated the projects and people and enjoyed a farm-to-table lunch from Flying Pancakes Catering. Read more about the 2016 award winners in the Awards Program HERE





The 2015 Award Winners: The Whallonsburg Grange Hall (Essex). Find out more here. The Sembrich (Bolton Landing). Find out more here. Analise Rigan and Merritt Hulst – The Paradox House Retreat (Schroon Lake). Find out more here. SUNY-ESF – The Masten House and Huntington Lodge (Newcomb). Find out more here. Reuben and Cynde Smith – Tumblehome Boatshop (Warrensburg). Find out more here. Pam and Len Broiles – “The Revival” (former Wells Baptist Church).