William Seward Webb and Frederick W. Vanderbilt originally founded the Kildare Club in 1892, as a 10,000 acre rustic hunting preserve west of Tupper Lake. The Saranac Lake architectural firm of Scopes and Feustmann designed the current complex in 1906, after the original lodge burned. At this site the architects departed from the more traditional Great Camp layout where separate buildings served separate functions. Instead, the large main lodge contains living, dining, and recreational spaces. Additional family cottages, guest quarters, and a guide’s house provide additional accommodations. This private preserve is rarely opened for tours and the Friedman family is graciously offering this unique opportunity to AARCH.
After our visit to the Club, join AARCH staff for a relaxing lunch stop at Raquette River Brewing and its neighboring food truck (optional).
This outing will be led by Kildare Club’s Bob Friedman.
The tour begins at 10 a.m. and ends around 1 p.m.
FEE: $40 for members and $50 for non-members.